PAYMENT OF FEES
Summer Hours - June thru July
Weed Campus Offices Open - 7:30 am to 5:30 pm, Monday thru Thursday
Regular Hours - August thru May
COS Business Office Hours - 8:00 am to 4:00 pm, Monday thru Friday
All registration fees are due at the time of enrollment.
To avoid being dropped, take one of the following steps:
Students who do not pay fees or make a contract to pay fees with be dropped from their classes for non-payment of current fees and/or existing unpaid balances.
Processing of drops for non-payment of fees will occur on the following days:
Payment must be established or a payment method arranged by these dates or you will be dropped
June 8, July 13, & August 10
November 30th, December 14th, and January 11th
All fees should be paid in full at the time of registration. These fees are subject to change without notice pending Board of Trustees and California State Legislature actions.
* Community Education classes (class starting with X) will not be refunded after the first day of class.
|Fee / Amount||Who||Refunds|
$46 per unit*
|All California residents, out-of-state residents (except Oregon-See info on Exchange Program below) and international students. Exemption from the fee with a Board of Governor's Waiver is available for students who meet low-income requirements (contact Admissions & Records for income criteria), SSI, TANF, State Supplementary Program Benefits, or the General Assistance Program.||Refundable if course is dropped within the appropriate refund period. Check your Navigator Schedule/Bill for specific drop dates.|
$19 / semester
(12 or more units)
$16 / semester
(under 12 units)
|All students except those receiving a Board of Governor's Fee Waiver or students who use prayer for healing or students who are identified as confined (must be documented).||Refundable if student totally withdraws from college prior to the first day of classes.|
|Student Representation Fee (Mandatory Fee)
|All students||This fee is non-refundable.|
|Student Center Fee $1 /unit up to $5 max||All students
*Not charged in Summer term
|This fee is non-refundable.|
|Non-Resident Tuition Fee
|All students who are not considered to be California residents or who are not on the Oregon Exchange Program. *Plus the $46 per unit Enrollment Fee.||A sliding percentage is refundable if dropped by the appropriate refund deadlines.|
|Oregon Exchange Program
|All students attending COS under the Interstate Exchange Program with Southern Oregon University or Oregon Institute of Technology||A sliding percentage is refundable if dropped by the appropriate refund deadlines.|
|Oregon Resident Rate
|All students attending COS from Oregon not on the Exchange Program||A sliding percentage is refundable if dropped by the appropriate refund deadlines.|
|Associated Student Body Membership
|Optional||This fee is non-refundable.|
|Depends on class||Depends on withdrawal date.|
|Depends on Student Status||http://www.siskiyous.edu/apply/k12.htm|
*Subject to change after approval of annual state budget.
Refunds are process automatically if courses are dropped with in the refundable timelime. Refunds take approximately four weeks to process.
A student may receive a refund for:
|Week in Semester||Refund Percentage|
|Prior to Semester||100%|
*Subject to change (check the Business Office for the most current process)
|If I register for a course but didn't attend am I eligible for a refund?||NO||At the time of registration you agree you are responsible for payment of the courses you are registering for. When you register you reserve that spot, which may not be filled if you don't drop but do not attend class.|
|If I have an extenuating circumstance may I appeal the refund decision?||YES||Extenuating Circumstance is defined in Title V as "Extenuating circumstances are verified cases of illness, accident, or other circumstances beyond your control." If this is the case you can complete a Petition for Refund.|
|What happens if I never paid my fees and don't intend to pay?||--------||A charge is placed on your account at time of registration and will stay on your account until paid. This balance will place a hold on you recieving any records or transcripts through COS and could prevent you from registering for future terms.|
|If I registered for the course and stayed registered for the entire course but stopped attending prior to the refund date am I eligible for a refund.||NO||A student must be officially dropped from a class to be eligible for a refund.|