Equivalency Committee

Purpose

The COS Equivalency Committee reviews faculty qualifications with respect to the Minimum Qualifications for Faculty and Administrators in California Community Colleges, commonly referred as the minimum qualifications list. It is a joint committee of Academic Senate representatives and District representatives per Education Code §87359 (b) which requires that the process, as well as criteria, and standards by which the governing board reaches its determination regarding faculty members shall be developed and agreed upon jointly by representatives of the governing board and the academic senate, and approved by the governing board.

Administrative Procedure

The District’s Administrative Procedure covering equivalencies is No. 7211 – Faculty Service Areas, Minimum Qualifications and Equivalencies. The link to the Administrative Procedure is: http://www.siskiyous.edu/bpap/procedures/hr/ap7211.pdf.

Membership

5 - Academic Senate Members appointed by the Senate

1 - Administrator appointed by the Superintendent/President

1 - Member of the Human Resources Department to serve as recording secretary, a non-voting/resource member

Chair

Elected by the Equivalency Committee from among the 5 Academic Senate Members serving on the committee.

Committee Recommendations

Discipline recommendations and a majority vote by the Equivalency Committee are required for the Equivalency Committee to recommend forwarding the application to the Board of Trustees for final approval and granting of equivalency.

Reporting

Reports to the Academic Senate.

Meetings

Upon demand or Monthly.

Agenda

Posted to the kiosk between the Learning Resources Center and the John Mantle Student Center buildings.

Committee Recommendations

Committee recommendations are communicated to candidates by Human Resources. Records of equivalency determinations are kept in Human Resources.

Committee Membership

Committee Chair

Shawn Abbott
Email: abbotts@siskiyous.edu
Phone: (530) 938-5275

Academic Senate Committee Members

Jude Baldwin
Email: jbaldwin2@siskiyous.edu
Phone: (530) 938-5330

Michael Graves
Email: graves@siskiyous.edu
Phone: (530) 938-5536

William Hirt
Email: hirt@siskiyous.edu
Phone: (530) 938-5255

Michael Tischler
Email: tischler@siskiyous.edu
Phone: (530) 938-5322

Administrative Committee Member

Todd Scott
Email: tscott8@siskiyous.edu
Phone: (530) 938-5201

Human Resources Representative

Nancy Miller
Email: millern@siskiyous.edu
Phone: (530) 938-5359